Willy Mason - Save Myself.

Bill Cummings 29/01/2007

Willy Mason releases his new album, If The Ocean Gets Rough through Radiate/Virgin Records on March 5th 2007.

A new single, Save Myself will precede the album on February 19th.Watch the video here:

Real Player

Windows Media

Willy Mason released his debut record, Where The Humans Eat to huge acclaim in 2004. The record took on a life of its own and through word of mouth has sold over 100,000 copies. Willy's song Oxygen has become a protest song of sorts, capturing the spirit of our times. This was certainly evident at Glastonbury 2005 where a mud soaked audience sang every word. Willy hit the road constantly and toured with the likes of Bright Eyes, Beth Orton, The Magic Numbers and was the sole support for Radiohead on their low-key European and US tour in 2006.

After two years touring and rambling, Willy headed back home to Martha's Vineyard, a small and isolated island off the east coast of the US . Thoughts moved to recording the new songs Willy had written on his journeys. He decamped to a small studio in North Brookfield , Massachusetts . The album turned out to be a family affair with Willy's younger brother Sam playing drums on all tracks and Willy's mum, Jemima singing backing vocals on several others.

Now with the album finished, another journey begins for 21 year old Willy Mason. He will be coming to the UK in January to play some low key solo shows before returning in May with a full band.We at GIITTV reccomend you snag yourself some Willy Mason tickets!

4 Leicester Charlotte
5 Liverpool Carling Academy
7 Cardiff The Point
8 Oxford Zodiac
9 Sheffield Leadmill
10 Norwich Waterfront
11 Bristol Trinity
12 Nottingham Rescue Rooms
14 Leeds Cockpit
15 Manchester Academy 2
16 London Shepherds Bush Empire
18 Brighton Pavillion Theatre
19 Birmingham Academy 2
21 Edinburgh Liquid Roooms
22 Northumbria University
23 Glasgow QMU
24 Aberdeen Moshulu
25 Belfast Speakeasy
26 Dublin Temple Bar Music Centre